Product definition

What is Alfred?

Alfred launches apps and finds files from a hotkey, then goes further than a launcher: clipboard history, text snippets that expand as you type, custom web searches, a music mini player and a visual workflow editor for chaining actions together without code. The app itself is free; workflows, snippets, clipboard history and themes require the Powerpack, a one-time purchase of £34, or £59 for a Mega Supporter licence with free lifetime upgrades. It suits people who want deep, scriptable automation rather than a fixed feature set.

Verified product facts

Type
application launcherEditorially reviewed
Platform
macOS
Pricing
FreemiumDeveloper-stated
Developer
Running with Crayons LtdDeveloper-stated
Relationship to Nuanyue
Third-party product — not published by NuanyueEditorially reviewed
Current version
5.8.1Developer-stated
Official website
www.alfredapp.com/

Last updated . Facts marked developer-stated come from the developer and are not independently confirmed; editorially reviewed marks a Nuanyue judgement.

Key features

What Alfred does at a glance.

  • Hotkey launcher

    With application and file search

  • Workflow editor

    Built from connectable objects

  • Clipboard history

    For text, images and file paths

  • Snippets

    With auto-expansion as you type

  • Custom web searches

    For any site

  • Music mini player and contacts viewer

Common tasks

What you can use Alfred for

  • Launching apps and finding files from a hotkey
  • Pasting something copied earlier from clipboard history
  • Expanding saved text snippets as you type
  • Chaining actions together in a workflow to automate a repeated task
  • Searching a specific website directly from the launcher
Audience

Who is Alfred for?

  • People who want deep, scriptable automation rather than a fixed feature set
  • Mac users willing to buy a one-time licence instead of a subscription
Not a fit

Who is Alfred not for?

  • Anyone who only needs to launch apps and find files — the free app does that, while workflows, clipboard history, snippets and themes require the paid Powerpack
  • Windows or Linux users — Alfred is macOS only

Limitations

  • Workflows, clipboard history, snippets, custom web searches and themes are Powerpack-only
  • The minimum macOS version is not stated in the sources Nuanyue tracks
  • Apple Silicon support is not stated in the sources Nuanyue tracks

Strengths and trade-offs

What Alfred does well, and what to weigh before choosing it. Points marked developer-stated come from the developer’s own material and have not been independently confirmed.

Strengths

  • The launcher itself is free and does not expire.Developer-stated
  • Powerpack is a one-time purchase rather than a subscription, at £34 for a single licence.
  • Workflows are built in a visual editor by connecting objects, so automation does not require writing code.Developer-stated
  • Settings can be synced between Macs through a file-sync service such as Dropbox, which also acts as a backup.Developer-stated

Trade-offs

  • Workflows, clipboard history, snippets, custom searches and themes all require the paid Powerpack; the free app is a launcher only.
  • The Mega Supporter licence at £59 is the only tier that includes future major-version upgrades; a standard licence is tied to version 5.
  • Alfred 6 is announced for release in autumn 2026, so a licence bought now is for the outgoing major version.Developer-stated

First-use experience

What the app asks of you when you set it up. Only established facts appear here; anything we could not confirm is left out rather than guessed at.

Installation
Download a .dmg from alfredapp.com and drag the app to Applications.
First launch Developer-stated
Alfred asks which hotkey to use and whether to replace the Spotlight shortcut; no account is required.
System integration Developer-stated
Optionally replaces the Spotlight hotkey, and Powerpack workflows can run shell scripts and control other apps.

What it does

Alfred launches apps and finds files from a hotkey. Beyond that it adds clipboard history, text snippets that expand as you type, custom web searches, a contacts viewer, a music mini player, and a visual workflow editor where actions are connected as objects rather than written as scripts.

The free/paid boundary

This is the part that matters most before installing. The launcher is free and does not expire. Everything that makes Alfred more than a launcher sits behind the Powerpack:

Capability Free Powerpack
Launch apps, find files Yes Yes
Workflows No Yes
Clipboard history No Yes
Snippets and auto-expansion No Yes
Custom web searches No Yes
Custom themes No Yes
Settings sync No Yes

Pricing

The Powerpack is a one-time purchase, not a subscription:

Licence Price Upgrades
Single License £34 Alfred 5
Mega Supporter £59 Free lifetime upgrades

The distinction matters: a standard licence is tied to version 5, while the Mega Supporter licence carries free upgrades into future major versions. Alfred 6 is announced for autumn 2026, so anyone buying today is buying the outgoing major version unless they choose Mega Supporter.

Apple Silicon

Recorded as unknown. The developer’s pages Nuanyue checked do not state the build’s architecture, and an unestablished fact is left unestablished rather than guessed.

Release history

Dated releases recorded for Alfred, newest first, each with the source it was read from.

  1. 5.8.1Developer-stated

    Current release; build 2349 is the published download.

    Source: Official website

Questions about Alfred

Is Alfred free?

The launcher is free and does not expire. Workflows, clipboard history, snippets, custom web searches and themes require the Powerpack, which is a one-time purchase of £34.

Is the Alfred Powerpack a subscription?

No. It is a one-time purchase. A single licence costs £34 and is tied to Alfred 5; a Mega Supporter licence costs £59 and includes free lifetime upgrades.

Do I need to know how to code to use Alfred workflows?

No. Workflows are assembled in a visual editor by connecting objects. Scripts can be added, but they are optional rather than required.Developer-stated

What is the latest Alfred version?

5.8.1, build 2349. Alfred 6 is announced for autumn 2026.Developer-stated

Alternatives to Alfred

Apps that could replace this one — the same job, a different trade-off.

  • RustCast app icon

    RustCast

    Free, open-source Rust launcher for macOS, now unmaintained.

    Both offer keyword-driven launching with clipboard history and file search; Rustcast is a lighter tool without a workflow editor.

    • Utilities
    • Open Source
    • v0.8.5

Compared with

Head-to-head comparisons Nuanyue has published.

  • Raycast app icon

    Raycast

    Keyboard launcher with extensions, clipboard history and AI.

    Both are extensible keyboard launchers; Alfred's Powerpack is a one-time purchase while Raycast's AI features are a subscription.

    • Utilities
    • Freemium
    • v2.6

Works well with

Not a replacement — apps commonly used alongside this one.

  • 1Password app icon

    1Password

    Encrypted password and passkey vault with autofill and breach monitoring.

    Alfred's Powerpack can open 1Password bookmarks directly, making the password manager's entries reachable from the launcher.

    • Security
    • v8.12.38
  • Ice

    Menu bar manager for hiding icons and organizing layouts.

    Alfred handles keyboard-driven commands while Ice manages menu bar items, covering different parts of the same Mac setup.

    • System Tools
    • Open Source
    • v0.11.12
Get it

Sources

Facts on this page are checked against the sources below. Last updated .

How Nuanyue grades sources →